Past Picturebook Award Winners (Grades K-4)

Year Title Author Illustrator
2016-2017 Gaston Kelly DiPucchio Christian Robinson
2015-2016 Breaking News: Bear Alert David Biedrzycki David Biedrzycki
2014-2015 Ol’ Clip-Clop: A Ghost Story Patricia McKissack Eric Velasquez
2013-2014 Sylvie Jennifer Sattler Jennifer Sattler
2012-2013 When a Dragon Moves In Jodi Moore Howard McWilliam
2011-2012 I Need My Monster Amanda Noll Howard McWilliam
2010-2011 Aliens Are Coming! The True Account of the 1938 War of  the Worlds Radio Broadcast Meghan McCarthy Meghan McCarthy
2009-2010 I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More! Karen Beaumont David Catrow
2008-2009 Sweet Tooth Margie Palatini Jack E. Davis
2007-2008 Superdog: The Heart of a Hero Caralyn Buehner Mark Buehner
2006-2007 Don’t let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! Mo Willems Mo Willems
2005-2006 My Lucky Day Keiko Kasza Keiko Kasza
2004-2005 Stanley’s Party Linda Bailey Bill Slavin
2003-2004 Hooway for Wodney Wat Helen Lester Lynn Munsinger
2002-2003 Stand Tall Molly Lou Melon Patty Lovell David Catrow
2001-2002 Bark, George Jules Feiffer Jules Feiffer
2000-2001 Verdi Janell Cannon Janell Cannon
1999-2000 No, David David Shannon David Shannon
1998-1999 Leo the Magnificat Ann M. Martin Emily A. McCully
1997-1998 Dog Breath! The Horrible Trouble with Hally Tosis Dav Pilkey Dav Pilkey
1996-1997 The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales Jon Scieszka Lane Smith
1995-1996 Martha Speaks Susan Meddaugh Susan Meddaugh
1994-1995 Hurricane City Sarah Weeks James Warhola
1993-1994 The Rough Face Girl Rafe Martin David Shannon
1992-1993 The Talking Eggs Robert D. San Souci Jerry Pinkney
1991-1992 Two Bad Ants Chris Van Allsburg Chris Van Allsburg
1990-1991 We’re Back! A Dinosaur’s Story Hudson Talbott Beverly Lazor-Bahr
1989-1990 No Jumping on the Bed Tedd Arnold Tedd Arnold
1988-1989 Max, the Bad-Talking Parrot Patricia Brennan Demuth Bo Zaunders
1987-1988 If You Give a Mouse a Cookie Laura Numeroff Felicia Bond
1986-1987 My Teacher Sleeps in School Leatie Weiss Ellen Weiss
1985-1986 The Unicorn and the Lake Marianna Mayer Michael Hague
1984-1985 Doctor de Soto William Steig William Steig
1983-1984 Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs Judi Barrett Ronald Barrett
1982-1983 Herbie’s Troubles Carol Chapman Kelly Oechsli
1981-1982 Pinkerton Behave! Steven Kellogg Steven Kellogg
1980-1981 The Tailypo: A Ghost Story Joanna Galdone Paul Galdone
1979-1980 Miss Nelson is Missing Harry Allard James Marshall
1978-1979 Big Bad Bruce Bill Peet Bill Peet
1977-1978 The Sweet Touch Lorna Balian Lecia Balian
1976-1977 Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day Judith Viorst Ray Cruz